Barbara Kasten | Prague Biennale 6 | Czech Republic

Prague Biennale 6
Freight Railway Station, Prague, Czech Republic
June 6 – September 15, 2013
Website here

The inauguration of the 6th Prague Biennale is scheduled for Thursday, June 6, 2013, just after the opening week of the Venice Biennale. This year it is based at the functionalist railway station from 1936, designed by Karel Caivas and Vladimir Weiss, in the vibrant district of Zizkov the only freight railway station in the Czech Republic, which was recently pronounced as a national monument in March 2013…[DDET read more]

The crucial point of Prague Biennale 6 is the section Expanded Painting, curated by Helena Kontova, Giancarlo Politi and Nicola Trezzi, which presents, as always, a spectacular international selection of contemporary painting. Participating artists include some major names on the international art scene including Ali Banisadr (US/IR), Lee Seung-Taek (KR), Bruno Munari (IT), Entang Wiharso (ID) and John Henderson (US).

This year, the former section of Prague Biennale dedicated to Czech contemporary art expands to an international context. The curators of the section titled Flow, Zuzana BlochovA and Patricia Talacko, do not define generational or local connections nor the current direction of contemporary art. Rather than being similar in content and form, what the artists have in common is their ability to let oneself be carried away and to suppress the intellectual, logical and speculative part of thinking which in turn gives a unique integrity to the works. Among the participants are Quirin Baumler (DE), Dirk Bell (DE), Milan Grygar (CZ), Cestmi­r Kafka (CZ), Esther Klas (DE/US), Barbara Kasten (US), Viktorie Valocka (CZ), Lenka Vi­tkova (CZ), Dominic Wood (AU/DE), B.Wurtz (US).

The Slovak section Beyond the Art, curated by Mira Sikorova-Putisova, will present work by a selection of renowned Slovak artists who predominantly live abroad. Their interactive and relational work is centred on social issues. Participating artists include Anton Cierny (SK), Katarina Hladekova (SK/CZ), Jana Kapelova (SK/CZ), Michal Murin (SK), Lucia Nimcova (SK / NL / BE).[/DDET]